The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) outlines what adults must do to help children with their learning and development from birth to five years of age. It is split into 7 areas of learning and development, 3 prime areas and 4 specific areas:

Prime Areas
• Communication and Language
• Personal, Social and Emotional Development
• Physical Development

Specific areas
• Literacy
• Mathematics
• Understanding the World
• Expressive Arts and Design

Below is a link to a guide for parents on what to expect in the early years foundation stage.
What-to-expect-in-the-EYFS-complete-FINAL-16.09-compressed.pdf (

As Early years practitioners it is our responsibility to ensure every child is making good progress, identifying any barriers to learning and supporting them where needed. Little Giants Nursery uses an online platform called baby’s days to record your child’s development using observations, photos, and next steps which will be shared with you. You can also add to these observations and photos to help us monitor your child’s development. For more information on how to use Baby’s days please see the link below.
Baby’s Days for Parents – Childcare Software for Parents with children in Nurseries, Pre-Schools and Childminders. (